Out of stock

Based on the novel written by Australian actor Roger Ward (Mad Max, Stone, Turkey Shoot) The Set was a highly controversial film upon its release in 1970 in which it’s alternate attitudes towards sexuality challenged the traditional mores of the mainstream society. The film, now regarded as a lost piece of Australian genre cinema, is considered the precursor to the OZ Sex-Wave films of the following decade (Fantasm, Libido, Naked Bunyip, Felicity etc.) Scored by the highly respected and unique jazz original Sven Libaek, the music has also been unjustly overlooked from any recent focus on Australian cinema. After scoring several television scores and documentaries in the 1960s (Nature Walkabout, To Ride A White Horse, Man and A Mural) The Set was Libaek’s first commission to score a feature film soundtrack. Incorporating elements of Baroque and sunshine pop as well as moody mod jazz, The Set is an incredible time-piece of Swinging Sydney. Featuring Libaek regulars and top rank Australian jazz players, (Don Burrows, John Sangster, Errol Buddle etc) the music to the The Set was once a long forgotten piece of Australian B-cinema which has now been fully restored and presented again in all its original glory. Including rare photos, original newspaper cuttings and extensive liner notes from Australian cult cinema expert & Mu Meson archive curator Jaimie Leonarder.

  • Cult Australian Sexploitation soundtrack
  • Deluxe 180g gatefold LP.
  • Fully remastered.
  • Rare photos and extensive liner notes.



1. Starting Growing Up Now (Vocals by The Flanagans)
2. The Set (Unsophisticated little Innocent)
3. Thoughts OF Regret
4. You’ll Love It
5. Love Me
6. Night Ride
7. Suicide
8. That’s Peg’s Affair
9. Touching Hands
10. Opus 13


1. The Fate Of Life
2. Come And See
3. That’s Peg’s Affair (Solo Guitar)
4. That’s What I’m after
5. The Youngsters
6. Where The Daring Go
7. To The Maestro
8. Partytime At Bronski’s
9. Start Growing Up Now (Instrumental)
10. Unsophisticated little Innocent (Vocal)*

* Bonus Track (CD Only)

Out of stock

Share it